Blogging About Blogging

22 Jan

After tonight’s session, “Intro to Blogging” I feel much less intimidated and learned a great deal about the purpose of blogging. I now see blogging as yet another way to learn. By reflecting I am learning, changing how I think. By reading blogs I am learning, reflecting and changing how I think.

I have made huge strides this week. Tweeting, blogging, connecting. There is another stride I must make and that is to comment on someone’s blog. Somehow I feel intimidated by that, as if I my comment is not worthy!

I will try not to overthink it and just remember the basics. Connect with someone with whom I have a shared interest or perspective.

Here goes…

3 Responses to “Blogging About Blogging”

  1. Sue Waters January 22, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

    Glad my session on blogging helped you!

    Most people are more intimidated by leaving comments than publishing their own posts. Some times it is the opposite and they are happy to comment and more reluctant to publish own posts.

    The key is a lot of others feel the same level of being uncomfortable with commenting as you. Feel they have nothing to add, they might say the wrong thing and more importantly they are posting the comment on some one else’s blog so can’t edit. The best option is to find those that you feel comfortable commenting with and who respond back. For example, Denise Kreb who commented on your last post is a good start.

    • alisonsreflections January 22, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

      Thanks for your supportive words Sue. I am glad to know that I am not alone in the discomfort around blogging. You have given me some solid recommendations on how to get past this and I will take those suggestions and move forward.

      I took a big step in replying back to you! YAY ME.

      • Sue Waters January 22, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

        You did take a big step replying back! Well done!

        Always happy to support. Years ago I did a comment challenge where we had specific commenting tasks to do over a month. It really surprised me that we had educators who had blogged for years that rarely commented because of the discomfort. Until then I thought the biggest barrier was lack of time; which wasn’t the case.

        Feeling that discomfort is a good thing. It reminds you when you use online technology with students that you will have individuals with varying levels of confort. This helps you plan for all situations.

Leave a Reply

